How To Check A Current Runlevel Of Your Linux System

Article By kevin


Unix System V-style implement conventionally 7 runlevels. This runlevel implementation varies across many Linux distribution. Usually runlevel 0, 1 and 6 are the same.

  • 0 - halt
  • 1 - single mode
  • 6 - reboot

On Debian distributions runlevel 2-5 are dedicated to full multi-user mode with graphical managers and console login. Redhat/Fedora has two separate runlevels for each mode. To check the runlevel, you can use the runlevel command with no arguments:

$ runlevel
another way to check your runlevel is to use:
$ who -r
To see what services are starting during which runlevel you can use:
# chkconfig
The same command also allows you to turn off and on each service for any particular runlevel. For example to run apache2 on level 2 you will use command:
# chkconfig apache2 2

Tags: , , ,

Spin up a VPS server in no time flat

Simple setup. Full root access. Straightforward pricing.


Leave a Reply